26 Jul

Hosting a world cup 2022 free livestream is both an honorable privilege and a heavy responsibility. This is why the bidding process is very crucial in the granting of hosting privileges and they do it a few years in advance to accommodate the required preparations needed in hosting a prestigious sports event.

The 2022 World Cup was granted to Qatar, a small independent emirate in the Gulf region of the Middle East. 

How many years between each World Cup?

The FIFA Men's World Cup is a quadrennial event which means it is held once every four years. The only time that the sporting event wasn't played was in 1942 and 1946. This was because both World Cups were canceled due to the hostilities happening during World War II.

The four-year break between each World Cup is designed to provide time for the federations to finish the qualification process and to determine which teams will fill up the 32 qualified team slots. The schedule for the qualification process for the World Cup is depending on the respective federation. 

A few months before the start of the World Cup tournament proper, the qualification stage must end and all of the slots for the 32 teams must be filled. Once the spots are filled, the draw date will begin and the teams were grouped to fill the World Cup fixtures. 

The qualification procedure is the most critical part of the pre-World Cup preparations because it will determine the qualified teams that will participate in the event.

How many countries have engaged in the World Cup?

The FIFA World Cup is already running for 92 years since its official establishment in 1930 in Uruguay. Since then, the tournament has accommodated a lot of countries that participated in the quadrennial event. 


Throughout its run, 209 members of FIFA have already participated in the World Cup and each one has its representatives in each qualifying stage. The countries who have played in the World Cup but are no longer considered nations are Serbia and Montenegro, USSR, Yugoslavia, and Chzechoslovakia. 

How many teams are in the World Cup?

Since its establishment, the standard slots for qualified teams are 32. From each of the federations in the World Cup, the qualified teams are taken and the slots are distributed among the continents. 

The continent that was given the privilege of having a lot of slots is Europe due to the solid football system in the continent plus the biggest football leagues in the world are also in Europe.

The 2022 edition of the World Cup will be the last time that the tournament will accommodate 32 teams. Starting in the 2026 edition, the qualified teams are expanded to 48 to accommodate more participants from less popular football federations. Each of the federations was given an increase in qualified slots.

Europe has 16 slots from 13, Asia has 8/5 from 4.5, and Africa has 9.5 from 5. Meanwhile, North America has 6.5 from 3.5, Oceania has 1.5 from 0.5 and South America has 6.5 from 4.5.

The expansion also allowed to accommodate more teams which would also mean that the fixtures will expand starting in the 2026 World Cup that will be held in three nations in North America. 

Final Words

The impending World Cup in November will be the most unique edition yet because the tournament will be held for the first time in an Arab country, as well as the first time it will be played in the winter months. The 2022 World Cup will be played in Qatar and everyone is excited to witness the unfolding of this quadrennial sports event.